Coming Soon: How to Fix Your Leaky VTEC Gaskets

2 Feb

My project CRX has been a good car so far but it has definitely needed its fair share of repairs.  My VTEC solenoid began seeping oil soon after I bought the car and due to neglect has become more of a squirt as the RPM’s rise.  Because I have a unique engine imported from Japan, finding the correct gaskets to fix the problem has become a bit of a challenge.  Thanks to the resources of http://www.crxcommunity.com and other forums, I was able to track down the correct part numbers.  It turns out that I need the gaskets from the fabled Acura NSX, the mid-engined sports car that shocked the world in 1991.  I’ll be posting a video entry later this week, demonstrating the procedure of changing the VTEC solenoid gaskets.

My gaskets may be unique because I have an OBD0 B16a, however this procedure will be nearly identical to any other VTEC Honda engine, or at least with a b-series motor.

Leave a Reply

